French Fridays with Dorie: Leeks Vinaigrette with Mimosa

Leeks w Vinaigrette

It’s wonderful to be cooking with a group of people again. So fun in fact I am looking around for another potential cookbook and group. While I’m not sure I could juggle two online groups, it’s very tempting. Having said that, its sometimes difficult for me to think of what to write about a dish. Two years ago I took a brief food writing class through a local university continuing ed program hoping to better understand both the mechanics and the inspiration. The most lasting thing to come out of those weeks was the deeper appreciation for people who write as both profession and passion.   Turning vision into thoughts, taste into words, sensual into print, still has the steamy mystique of a miracle.  Like turning sugar crystals into cotton candy.

Why the musing on writing? This week’s recipe contains, separately, several favorite ingredients: leeks, sherry vinegar, and eggs. It involved kitchen twine and poaching. The “salad” was dressed while still warm (an under utilized technique in my opinion) and contained straight forward ingredients combined in a new way. And yet it left me a bit uninspired.

The leeks themselves may be in part to blame. No skinny young leeks to be found and not even any large long white leeks, which are generally more tender. These were a bit short, and more green than I like: a sign they may be more tough on the outside (and they were). The inner texture when poached was fine and the leeks had that buttery flavor that comes from them simply being leeks. The vinaigrette was balanced with olive and walnut oil, sherry and a bit of Dijon. I had a farm fresh egg. The combination was tasty and yet I’m not sure I would trouble to make them again, unless I could find some of those thin, young leeks to see if that made the difference.

Curious as always to see how the other Doristas fared.

Since 2011, a group of cooks and bloggers have been making their way though all the recipes in Dorie Greenspan’s “Around My French Table.” We don’t publish the recipes, but you can pick up your own copy of the book and cook along, or just enjoy all the great food to be found in its pages. 

 

About Tasty Mayhem

Love to eat, cook, write. Try to think of witty things to say about the world but my thoughts are consumed by food. Mostly.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, French Fridays with Dorie, Gluten-free, Low/er Carb, Non-dairy, Salad, Side Dish, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to French Fridays with Dorie: Leeks Vinaigrette with Mimosa

  1. I seem to be one of the few that found young leeks…maybe because I live in a colder climate and they are still just coming up. If you are looking for cooking groups. I would love to have you join my Food of the World group. Every month we cook something from a new country. May 13th we will be in Mexico.

    Like

  2. Emily says:

    I really like the dressing!

    Like

  3. dulceshome says:

    Your dish looks pretty! I did like this a lot, but maybe my leeks were a bit “younger”. It was a fun, light dish.

    Like

  4. Cher says:

    I couldn’t find baby leeks, but we did enjoy this one.

    Determining what to write is often one of the hardest parts, isn’t it? I don’t know how professional food writers do it constantly.

    Like

  5. I couldn’t find baby leeks either, but did enjoy this dish! I loved the fresh spring flavor of the vinaigrette, and the grated eggs sprinkled on top! Happy Mother’s day!

    Like

  6. Diane Zwang says:

    I am glad this group has inspired you to join others. Glad you liked the leeks.

    Like

  7. Mary Hirsch says:

    I continue to be amazed at how well all my food blogging colleagues write. I find most of you clever and charming and funny. Often I wonder, how did she (or, he) come up with that? As demonstrated by your sentence, “Turning vision into thoughts, taste into words, sensual into print, still has the steamy mystique of a miracle. Like turning sugar crystals into cotton candy.” Very nice. Sorry you couldn’t find tasty leeks. Mine were large but very, very good. If leeks were a more popular vegetable in the US and desired by the consumer, we’d have better choices. I am happy you have rejoined us as well.

    Like

  8. I found smaller leeks, but they definitely weren’t baby! Glad to have you back with us!!!

    Like

  9. trevor says:

    My leeks were big and geriatric. I had to beat them down twice with an extra cooking step (broiling) to get them to cooperate. In the end I won and they surrendered into the incredible, tender French leeks I had intended them to be. I loved them.

    Like

  10. I was scared that I wouldn’t like this one so I didn’t do it . But I tried the vinaigrette in my salad for lunch today and Loved It!

    Like

  11. betsy says:

    I couldn’t find baby leeks either, but my medium leeks transformed into something delicious. I hpe you try this again with smaller ones.

    Like

Leave a Reply

