New Gadget: More Silicone Covers!

I still use a baking pans frequently, even without making a lot of desserts.

I still use a baking pans frequently, even without making a lot of desserts.

Well, I went ahead and finally used my birthday gift card online to get more silicone covers. Shaped like banana leaves. Yes, banana leaves.   A few weeks ago I posted about a silicone bowl and pan cover that I recently purchased.  The lilly pad shaped cover will replace plastic or foil in the fridge, on the table, in the oven, as well as covering saute pans. This versatility makes it one of my favorite new finds (though they have been around a while, apparently. 🙂

Researching them online, the same maker has square and rectangular covers that mimic banana leaves. I keep saying “banana leaf” because to me they have such a nice shape, color and texture. Maybe its just the association of eating banana leaf wrapped tamales and living here in a quasi tropical climate that does it for me, but the designer did a great job taking a pleasing natural form and adapting it to something so practical. They cover square baking pans and rectangular “lasagna” roasting pans. Both key for me as I use those pans to roast chicken drumsticks and bake crust-less quiche which are weekday meals and there are always leftovers to put in the fridge.

My Pampered Chef stoneware pans get a lot of use.

My Pampered Chef stoneware pans get a lot of use.

These covers have the same small handle on one end that allows you to hang them from a hook on the inside of a cabinet or pantry door. I’ve added two more 3M removable hooks to the inside of a cabinet door, staggered so all three lids fit.

About Tasty Mayhem

Love to eat, cook, write. Try to think of witty things to say about the world but my thoughts are consumed by food. Mostly.
This entry was posted in Gadgets, Miscellaneous, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Gadget: More Silicone Covers!

  1. Jill says:

    I just bought a lily pad cover and I love it!! I’ll definitely buy more in different sizes. Now I need to put up hooks so I can hang them!

    Like

  2. Tasty Mayhem says:

    This makes me so happy. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

