French Fridays with Dorie: Green as Spring Veal Stew

the veal simmers in some aromatics

the veal simmers in some aromatics

I had already planned to make a smaller version of this week’s French Fridays recipe. We still have leftovers from Easter to polish off, so while the stew would be a nice break from finding creative uses for ham, a large pot of stew sitting around the fridge could be a problem (frankly I’m not sure there is even room!).  When I got to the store my decision was sealed:

Me: Do you all have veal stew meat, or maybe some shoulder I could buy?

Grumpy Butcher: If we have it, it would be in the case.

Worried Me: Yeah, Sorry, I checked and there is nothing in the case.

Grumpy Butcher: I can check the back, but it would be frozen.

Starting to Get Grumpy Me: It would be great if you could check. I’d love to buy some.

Even Grumpier Butcher: (Hesitates) I don’t think we have much.

Now Totally Annoyed Me: Whatever you have would be fine.

(10 minutes later) Butcher: I’ve got a pound.

Relieved Me: Great. I’ll take it.

 

the cooked veal reheats in the green as spring sauce

the cooked veal reheats in the green as spring sauce

My pound of veal and I grabbed up some spinach, dill and arugula and headed out the door, (forgetting the creme fraiche, which D would have to retrieve the next day). Halving a recipe is always interesting, but reducing one by two thirds is amusing. The end result was worth the effort. The bright green sauce blends the herbs and greens in such as way that no one flavor dominates but all meld together to in something that just tastes of spring.  Both of us enjoyed the light fresh flavors, and though I served it with some leftover gluten free pasta, it would have been fine on its own with a simple vegetable side dish.

the final dish, with a few carrots

the final dish, with a few carrots

Since 2011, a group of cooks and bloggers have been making their way though all the recipes in Dorie Greenspan’s “Around My French Table.” We don’t publish the recipes, but you can pick up your own copy of the book and cook along, or just enjoy all the great food to be found in its pages. 

About Tasty Mayhem

Love to eat, cook, write. Try to think of witty things to say about the world but my thoughts are consumed by food. Mostly.
This entry was posted in French Fridays with Dorie, Gluten-free, Low/er Carb, Main Dish and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to French Fridays with Dorie: Green as Spring Veal Stew

  1. What a sales man that butcher… glad you enjoyed the sauce too.

    Like

  2. Yours looks great with the carrots! I liked the sauce, too 🙂

    Like

  3. betsy says:

    Looks great. I just love the color. Nice that this one was already gluten free so you only had to deal with the complicated math, not other substitutions. Have a great weekend!

    Like

  4. Diane Zwang says:

    I enjoyed your butcher story. The carrots did make your dish look pretty.

    Like

  5. Cher says:

    I cut mine in 1/3’s to match the one pound package too!

    I like the carrot addition – it adds a visual break to the green 🙂

    Like

  6. dulceshome says:

    Your dish looks great! I’m just making mine now, with the veal chop I had in the freezer from when I never got around to making “the” veal chop. It does smell delicious, and now I’m excited for the sauce. Carrots look great, maybe I’ll make some!

    Like

  7. Mary Hirsch says:

    I reduced my stew by 2/3 also. Yeah, it was “twicky”, as my granddaughter would say. Your green looked like miy green. Although it took some getting used to, the color of the sauce, I also thought the stew was very, very good. Glad you all liked it.

    Like

  8. If it wasn’t for the color this dish would have a spot in my dinner rotation…it certainly was green! Glad it was a hit at your house…we thought it was delicious, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

