New Gadget: Silicone Lid (Bowl or Pan Cover)

My new silicone lid in action with the spoon rest

My new silicone lid in action with the spoon rest

Sometimes finding a new kitchen tool I love feels like stumbling over a Renior painting at a rummage sale: surely no one else knows how fantastic this is!? Thankfully the internet is there to remind me that the planet has been clued in for quite a while and I just don’t get out enough.

Since purchasing this lily pad shaped silicone bowl and pan lid at a kitchen store in the hills of Virginia, I have spotted varieties of them everywhere. And why not? It’s a washable, reusable cover for bowls or pans that seals to the rim of the container. Covering a pan makes for easy steaming, (like with the spinach from dinner in the above photo) even on pans that did not come with lids, such as every saute pan I’ve ever owned. You can cover bowls in the fridge or on the table without using foil or plastic wrap. One way I’ve already used this was to marinate food in the mixing bowl, rather than transferring to a second covered dish for the fridge.

One of my favorite features I discovered after unwrapping and using: one edge has a cleverly built-in tiny handle for gripping the edge for removal from the container or hanging on a hook for easy storage.

This is hanging on a cabinet door near the stove from a removable hook.

This is hanging on a cabinet door near the stove from a removable hook.

 

The lids come in several varieties: sunflower, hibiscus, pink lily, pumpkin, poppy, snowflake and there are plain versions from other makers too, but not every variety has the full range of sizes from 13 inches to a tiny 4 inches  (to cover drinks). There is also a rectangular banana leaf shaped version for baking dishes and even a wine stopper. From what I have seen they are available at numerous home and kitchen stores nationwide and internet wide.

About Tasty Mayhem

Love to eat, cook, write. Try to think of witty things to say about the world but my thoughts are consumed by food. Mostly.
This entry was posted in Gadgets, Miscellaneous and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Gadget: Silicone Lid (Bowl or Pan Cover)

  1. Jill says:

    I’ve sort-of noticed these but haven’t given them much thought. Now I think I need to get one (or more)!

    Like

Leave a Reply

