French Fridays with Dorie: Quiche Maraichere

I just love this little baking dish - perfect for a crustless quiche

I just love this little baking dish – perfect for a crustless quiche

Confession time again: I ate the first piece of this vegetable filled quiche standing over the stove. My regular diet does not contain a lot of dairy, so the smell of creamy custard and melting Gruyere cheese was almost intoxicating. I’m not drinking much either, so that might be clouding my judgement about what could be classified as an intoxicant.

This week’s recipe is of course typically served as a savory tart with a buttery crust. Since I’ve given up gluten and avoid grains, I oped not to splurge on a gluten-free crust, but instead went with the naked, crust-less quiche. (I’m starting to think those marathons of Game of Thrones watching are affecting my writing.) Anyhoo, back to the quiche.

It was great. I love anything with leeks, and every time I cook with them I think – why don’t I use these in more food? (Someone send me some ideas.) The peppers and carrots added some sweetness and the celery an herbal undertone, though there are no herbs in the dish. I used a cave aged Gruyere hanging out in the fridge asking to be used up. My co-worker has been giving me the pullet eggs from the young hens that are too small to sell or use in recipes. The best thing, besides the amazing fresh eggs, is that the yolks are close to full size, but each egg has less egg white. Making them perfect for this recipe where I used two of them combined to make up the 1 egg plus one yolk.

It's a good thing at least one slice survived to take a photo...

It’s a good thing at least one slice survived to take a photo…

Egg dishes and salad go great together, so I served this with a baby greens and strawberry salad dressed with a mix of Dorie’s basic vinaigrette and a splash of raspberry balsamic vinegar.  Then I ate a second piece, and part of a third.

Since 2011, a group of cooks and bloggers have been making their way though all the recipes in Dorie Greenspan’s “Around My French Table.” We don’t typically publish the recipes, but in this case the recipe has been published elsewhere. You can of course pick up your own copy of the book and cook along, or just enjoy all the great food.

About Tasty Mayhem

Love to eat, cook, write. Try to think of witty things to say about the world but my thoughts are consumed by food. Mostly.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Breakfast, French Fridays with Dorie, Low/er Carb, Main Dish, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to French Fridays with Dorie: Quiche Maraichere

  1. Love your quiche. Serving with a salad makes a perfect meal. Have a great weekend.

    Like

    • Tasty Mayhem says:

      You too Geraldine! Its been a great sunny day here and kicked it off with a visit to our local farmer’s market which is trying to re-brand itself. More on that in the next blog.

      Like

  2. Its so perfect I can’t really imagine it without a salad, can you?

    Like

    • Tasty Mayhem says:

      No I cannot, either Trevor. I specifically went and bought greens after I looked at the recipe. Its so rich, even with the vegetables (leeks always taste buttery to me even when not cooked in butter) that it screams for herbs, greens and acidic flavors. Funny that I don’t feel that way about ice cream. 😉

      Like

  3. Emily says:

    Love your crust-less quiche, less one step to delishness! Welcome back to FFwD! EmilyC

    Like

    • Tasty Mayhem says:

      Nice to be back. Lots of distractions in 2013. Not making any promises, but hoping I can hang in there with blogging after my blog a day challenge is up. I feel really refreshed and re-booted after only two weeks. Fingers crossed! Thanks Emily!

      Like

  4. I’m on a cleanse right now, so I can’t eat much of this amazing tart either!

    Like

  5. betsy says:

    Nice to have you cooking with us this week. The filling was so taste, I’m sure this was just as delicious crustless. Do you eat potatoes? I love this potato salad with asparagus and leeks in the springtime: http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/warm-leek-asparagus-and-potato-salad

    Like

  6. Mary Hirsch says:

    Loved reading your post and welcome back. Stay aboard. Your green salad looked especially delicious sitting next to your crustless (you are too good) quiche.

    Like

  7. Cher says:

    Sounds delicious 🙂
    Welcome back!

    Like

  8. Teresa says:

    I love how well it turned out without the crust – it looks perfect! And a salad is such an nice accompaniment for quiche.

    When my parents had chickens, they used to save those little eggs for the grandchildren and serve them in little egg cups. They loved their kid-sized breakfast eggs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

