Sunday Brunch: Pumpkin Pancakes

Yes, that is butter melting on the pancakes fresh off the griddle.

Yes, that is butter melting on the pancakes fresh off the griddle.

Pancakes are very nostalgic for me. I have vivid memories of my mother’s fluffy pancakes cooked in an electric frying pan. She made them for me when I was sick but feeling well enough to eat, or when I requested them special for dinner, and sometimes as an apology after a fight. They were the classic kind, white flour, milk and an egg with a few other ingredients.

At the restaurant, I worked the brunch shift and learned about other pancakes, ones made with blue cornmeal, or whole wheat flour, and filled with berries, bananas, or nuts. For years when my roommates and I had overnight guests, a band come to play, a yard full of tents, and groggy possibly still inebriated friends, I made blueberry or chocolate chip versions of that original recipe. Mine never quite seemed as fluffy and perfect as those of my childhood. Reality overlaid by the cloud of memory. So while the remembered cakes remain elusive, I regardless remain a fan of all things pancake.

Changing my eating habits over the years means a lot of pancake options have come and gone. Right now I am loving these pumpkin pancakes made without dairy or grains. They are full of good protein, good carbs from those bright colored vegetables we are supposed to eat more of, but they taste a little like they might be bad for you.

Pumpkin Pancakes

4 eggs

1/2 cup of canned or frozen (thawed) pumpkin

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

2 Tablespoons, or the equivalent, of sweetener*

1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon, or a combination of cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice

1/4 teaspoon of baking soda

1/4 cup of coconut flour**

plus, coconut oil or butter for frying

 

Whisk the eggs, pumpkin, vanilla and sweetener together in a bowl. In a separate bowl mix the spices, baking soda, and coconut flour to blend. Add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix until blended. The coconut flour will absorb a lot of the moisture form the eggs and pumpkin, so allow it to stand for a few minutes while you get your skillet ready.

A few bubbles means they are ready to flip.

A few bubbles means they are ready to flip.

I cook my pancakes in an electric skillet where I can control the temperature evenly, however you can also cook these very successfully on the stove top in a non-stick or in a regular pan. Be sure to add enough oil to a pan without a non stick coating and that the pan and oil are up to a good temperature before dropping in about two tablespoons of the batter.  Allow the pancakes to cook on one side until you see a few bubbles. Because of the ingredients, these cakes will still be runny on the top (but cooked on the bottom) as you flip them. It may take a little practice to master the right flip. Try cooking only one or two at a time until you feel comfortable.  Smaller pancakes will be easier to manage.

Serve with butter or coconut spread, the syrup of your choice, or some chopped/sliced fruit.

These pancakes are also great with fresh, frozen or dried fruit bits added to the batter.

I like the taste of pumpkin to shine through, but if you enjoy spices, consider adding more cinnamon and pie spice to the recipe.

*I have updated my page on ingredients including sweeteners. These days I am primarily using a stevia/erythritol combination that goes by the brand name Truvia, though there are other similar brands and generics available. You should use whatever sweetener you enjoy in this recipe. Paleo folks suggest maple syrup or honey.

**Coconut flour is not a flour at all but finely ground dried coconut. I’ve used Let’s Go Organic brand, often available in stores near the gluten free flours or with the coconut products and also Now Foods brand available to order online or sometimes in natural food stores.

About Tasty Mayhem

Love to eat, cook, write. Try to think of witty things to say about the world but my thoughts are consumed by food. Mostly.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Low/er Carb, Non-dairy, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday Brunch: Pumpkin Pancakes

  1. Thanks for sharing 🙂 this is awesome. Take a look at my 100 calorie muffins if you’re interested in healthy eating.

    Like

  2. Robin says:

    I’m going to find coconut flour right now. Can’t wait to try these. So glad you are back blogging! !

    Like

Leave a Reply

