French Fridays with Dorie: Minted Zucchini Tagliatelle with Cucumbers and Lemon

Doristas I’m back! And I promise it’s for good. What have I been doing for 5 months? Well, clearly not blogging. More on this in later posts but to catch you up with the Twitter-sized version: lost 20 pounds, dropped 30 cholesterol points & planted a new garden. D helped a lot with the garden, but since we did it old school and dug up all the grass and weeds by hand a lot spare time went into digging, digging, sifting, and more digging. Just this week we moved two ten year old privets from the front yard where they were blocking access to opening one’s car door in the driveway to new spots along the back fence. Oh, but enough about the ongoing yard transformation…

This week’s French Friday recipe was a good way to start back into things: an easy cold salad where I get to use an obscure piece of kitchen equipment and try to track down an exotic ingredient. Tasty Mayhem heaven. I had a moment of concern seeing the word “tagliatelle” in the title since I’m not eating pasta; no worries, these “noodles” are strips of zucchini which are mixed with chunks of cucumber and dressed lightly with lemon, mint and pistachio oil.

If there is a store in the Raleigh area that carries pistachio oil, I have yet to find it, but I hope I do at some point because I imagine I might have more fun trying to track it down. After 3 stores and $50 bucks worth of food I wasn’t looking for (Bulgarian sheep’s milk feta, raw organic hibiscus and ginger flavored chocolate, babaganouj, okra stewed with tomatoes,  spiced pecans, a vanilla bean, you get the idea) I gave up the hunt and settled for some walnut oil.

Then I got to use the mandoline slicer D’s Dad got me for Christmas (BTW, I’m the luckiest – D’s family loves buying me weird kitchen tools for Christmas). Its just like the one I borrowed from Sarah P last year to julienne strips of green papaya for som tum thai and I even got a pair of those cut resistant gloves to protect my hands when using it. The mandoline made short work of the zucchini – cutting into long thin strips just like the tagliatelle noodles the salad is named for.

It was cool and refreshing; mint and lemon are a favorite combination, evoking memories of middle eastern food like tabouli. The sweet onion in the dish does not overpower, as I feared. The flavor of zucchini and cucumber are still present through the stronger flavors. D also liked it and agreed that it was a great summer dish, even without the mysterious pistachio oil.

Every Friday the folks in French Fridays with Dorie write about their exploits cooking up another dish out of Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table, but they are not publishing recipes. Pick up a copy of the book at your nearby bookseller!

About Tasty Mayhem

Love to eat, cook, write. Try to think of witty things to say about the world but my thoughts are consumed by food. Mostly.
This entry was posted in French Fridays with Dorie, Low/er Carb, Salad, Side Dish, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to French Fridays with Dorie: Minted Zucchini Tagliatelle with Cucumbers and Lemon

  1. Jill says:

    I have a mandoline (also a gift from my in-laws!) and I love it but probably don’t remember to use it as much as I should. There’s no way I could make lovely slices like that by hand.
    Re: the Trader Joe’s Speculoos spread…I didn’t know about it and now feel the need to try it ASAP!

    Like

  2. I didn’t bother with the pistachio oil. I used the sunflower I had on hand from a previous Dorie recipe. Great post!

    Like

  3. Teresa says:

    Welcome back! I think an unsuccessful search for pistachio oil resulted in a great haul!

    I’ve been pretty consumed by gardening this summer, too. I’m even planning another vegetable bed for next year…

    Like

  4. Cher says:

    Welcome back – I agree with Teresa – you may not have found the pistachio oil, but it sounds like you still came out ahead!
    Looks good.

    Like

  5. betsy says:

    I never found pistachio oil either, but olive oil worked just fine. I liked the dressing on this, but NOT the raw zucchini. In any case, it’s really nice to see you back this week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

