French Fridays with Dorie: Asparagus with Bits of Bacon

Oh my. Its been a month since I’ve posted anything. I have lots of excuses reasons for that,  work, busy, projects, blah, blah, blah. You get the idea. I did manage to make this week’s recipe – and how could I not since it includes my favorite ingredient, bacon and my favorite spring vegetable, asparagus. Asparagus is spring to me: I’ve picked the fresh sprouts directly from the ground in a childhood friend’s garden and I remember my mother showing me how to carefully clean and peel them (since the asparagus we got was generally gritty with sand and dirt). My favorite risotto was always a simple one of parmesan rice and asparagus, with asparagus stock as the base and lots of parmesan stirred in. The green stalks are going to find their way into a dish for my Easter guests: a primaverde pasta salad using some of the fresh vegetables I found at the farmers market this morning; arugula, cucumbers, fresh herbs, along with some slow roasted tomatoes.

Dorie’s recipe is very simple and lets the few ingredients shine. Steamed asparagus is dressed with a little lemon and oil, topped with bacon bits and onion. Fresh, tart, smokey and salty – very enjoyable flavors to go with just about any protein such as grilled or roasted pork, beef or chicken. Last night however I had a bag of shrimp to use up, so I improvised a Cajun inspired dish. Recipe is below and it includes some spiral sliced ham, so add it to your list of ways to use up Easter leftovers.

Notes:

Other Dorista’s who dislike raw onion, take note, the finely chopped onion was sauteed in a bit of bacon fat before tossing onto the asparagus.

I normally have thick cut bacon on hand, but instead I had a bit of leftover jowl bacon and some regular sliced center cut, so this bacon is a combination.

These thin asparagus were on sale at Food Lion this week for 1.49 a pound!! They were steamed, not blanched, for my version.

Cajun Shrimp Saute

2 lb raw shrimp, thawed if frozen, tail on or off

1 cup of chopped ham, or some other smoked pork product like sausage

2-3 teaspoons of Cajun spice or blackening spice

2-3 T bacon fat, or your choice of oil

1 medium onion, diced

3 stalks of celery, diced

1 bell pepper, diced

1-2 cloves of garlic, minced

Heat 1 teaspoon of oil in a large saute pan. Cook the onions and celery until soft, about 10 to 15 minutes. Add the bell pepper and garlic, cook another 5 minutes. Add ham and cook until heated. Remove these ingredients from pan and set aside. Heat rest of oil, add drained shrimp and Cajun spice. Saute until shrimp are cooked, around 3-5 minutes, add rest of cooked veggies and ham, mix together and serve immediately.

In the hopper is a post on the Oscar party we hosted in February and it includes recipes that I’ve promised my guests, so look forward to that one next.

About Tasty Mayhem

Love to eat, cook, write. Try to think of witty things to say about the world but my thoughts are consumed by food. Mostly.
This entry was posted in French Fridays with Dorie, Low/er Carb, Main Dish, Side Dish and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to French Fridays with Dorie: Asparagus with Bits of Bacon

  1. Jill says:

    Asparagus isn’t my favorite, but those slim stalks topped with bacon look pretty good. And yes to the shrimp! I’ve been in a shrimp mood for a while now but haven’t done anything about it.

    Glad you’re back! I was wondering what happened to you.

    Like

  2. Tasty Mayhem says:

    I’ll try and post some of the home improvement projects we’ve been working on. All my creative energy going into spiffing up the house and garden. March and April, as well as October and November, are THE months for gardening here. It gets too hot by May to do much more than early morning weeding and deadheading. Not doing much cooking or writing (at least not for fun.)

    Like

  3. betsy says:

    Nice combo. The shrimp looks like a great companion for the bacony asparagus. Hope you have a Happy Easter and that your guests enjoy their asparagus. I just love when it’s in season, though the local season hasn’t quite reached the Northeast.

    Like

  4. Welcome back! Your asparagus looks amazing!

    Like

  5. Yum! I love shrimp but my husband is allergic so I rarely get to have it. I’m just learning to like asparagus but I love me some parm so the risotto idea is sounding great to me!

    Like

  6. Great Combination! Welcome back – missed reading your posts. That cajun dish looks really scrumptious!

    Like

  7. Tasty Mayhem says:

    Akk. feel terrible. its been a month since I’ve posted anything, hardly have been cooking. lots of gardening, weekend travel and home projects. I SWEAR i’m going to post the recipes from our February party soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

