Dinner Diary: Day Three and Four

(There will be pictures by the end of the week. I promise. Oh, and its officially crunch time: twice today I forgot it was Wednesday and thought it was Tuesday. At the very least this diary will make sure I get to dinner on Saturday, not Sunday.)

The last two days have been long ones. Maybe not quite as long as Monday (and yes, I did finish my assignment for class), but long all the same. Did I mention that I’m implementing a new software program in my department at work? No? Surprising since it’s what I think about and work on all day, except when I’m on the phone or in a meeting or answering some questions (things that happened all too much the last few days). Late afternoon today I had a sort of “anti-epiphany” in which I realized that the entire way I customized the user interface for our staff was backwards. And the reason I’d been struggling this past week to make all the pieces “fit” was that really they should have been done another way, in fact the way I thought it should be originally. Erp. It’s fixable, just time consuming. Better to realize it now rather than later. As expected, I’ve gone home exhausted and not much in the mood to cook. And well, there’s the usual chaos.

Tuesday: Most importantly, I voted. Small local races that take place at odd times are important. Vote. Soapbox over. Second most important, I finish most of my shopping. Or well, I thought I did anyway. Pick up long beans, snap peas, and some additional basil but can’t find kaffir lime leaves anywhere this week. Hoping that the Grand Mart has re-stocked by Friday when I will swing by and purchase bean sprouts at the last minute: they go bad so quickly. At home I look at my list and decide that what I really need is a good night’s sleep.

Wednesday: Up early for physical therapy. The car accident last year left some lingering neck problems. The therapist really worked my shoulder, neck and jaw muscles. Hummm, should I have mentioned the unusual amount of chopping, slicing and stirring in my week ahead? 🙂 A final stop at the store on the way home to pick up meats: ground pork, ground turkey, pork loin, brisket. There are 6 people shopping at BJs and the woman selling discounted insulation seems a bit desperate for their attention. She follows me over to the coupon stand, continuing to talk long after I’ve explained we have already added extra insulation to our attic.  In the appliance aisle a deep fryer tries to sweet talk me as well but I resist (Seriously? Keep walking.) The meat aisle is empty of carts, but full of meats. I linger remembering in the rib roast from last Christmas and wishing they had 4 lb containers of ground turkey, instead of 3 lb. Heading to checkout, I think again about whether its more fun to shop for food or cook it. No conclusions. These dinners get me thinking of interesting ways to use the extras and leftovers. I see a carmelized onion coated slow roasted brisket coming up in my food future.

At home, D is off at a movie so with the TV cranked up loud, I get to work. Huh. That’s interesting. Looks like I mixed up my kitchen notes with my meeting notes and left my prep list on my desk. (Have you read the title of my blog?). Woman plans, the Goddess laughs. Without a list I launch into some general prep: squeezing limes, making tamarind water, boiling a lime and lemongrass simple syrup for white wine sangria and brewing Thai tea. Sauces are up next: peanut sauce, roasted chili/shallot/garlic, and chili vinegar. My kitchen rhythm is not quite hitting its groove, movements are a bit rusty, timing a bit off. Practice, practice, practice and soon I’ll be back in tune.

About Tasty Mayhem

Love to eat, cook, write. Try to think of witty things to say about the world but my thoughts are consumed by food. Mostly.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dinner Diary: Day Three and Four

  1. You sound busy, but I’m glad you’re squeezing it all in, especially the voting!

    Like

  2. Jill says:

    Are you going to get any sleep the night before the dinner? And how in the world are you going to transport everything and finish it off at someone else’s house? Eagerly awaiting the next chapter!

    Like

Leave a Reply

