Waffles

waffle for brunch!

I’m still working on the Thai basil ice cream recipe, so here are some waffle recipes to get you thinking about making a leisurely brunch on the upcoming long Labor Day weekend.

First, we love waffles.  They go great with traditional sides like bacon or sausage, but are also a great topped with fresh ricotta, a dusting of lemon zest, and a drizzle of syrup or honey. “Grandma’s Waffles” was the centerpiece around which I built our weekend eat-at-home brunch. This recipe is still hands down the best “regular” waffle recipe I’ve found and the ½ cup of butter in the batter has a lot to do with my devotion – don’t skimp!  After much experimentation, I’ve also come up with a low carb waffle recipe that D declares is “better than regular waffles” (or at least the kind they serve at Golden Corral.)

Oh, and these are not my grandma’s waffles. They are some other grandma’s waffles, however she is a real person, not like Betty Crocker.  And just a fun aside – my copy is written on the back of a grocery receipt from November of 1993. I bought cat food,
toothpaste, #10 of potatoes, and what appear to be all the ingredients for an Asian noodle salad and a batch of spaghetti sauce. Ah, the low fat years.

Grandma’s Waffles

4 eggs

2 cups buttermilk

1.5 teaspoons of vanilla

2.5 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

2 Tablespoons sugar

1 t salt

½ cup butter, melted

“Beat eggs until creamy, add milk and vanilla. Add dry  ingredients, beating just until smooth. Blend in melted butter.”

Then make waffles according to your waffle maker’s  specifications. I recommend mixing the dry ingredients together in a separate  bowl before adding to the egg/milk mixture, but it’s probably not 100%  necessary for this recipe.

Low Carb Waffles

4 oz cream cheese, softened

4-6 eggs (I like mine very eggy, and use the full 6. I’ve  seen recipes that use anywhere from 1-4. The eggs add good protein. If you use  fewer, you may need to add slightly more buttermilk.)

¾ cup of buttermilk

1 teaspoon of vanilla

½ cup of Kevin PA’s low carb flour blend* (my notes on a grain free-version are below.)

¾ cup plain unflavored whey protein

¾ cup almond meal

2 packets of sucralose (or the equivalent to about 1.5 tablespoons of equivalent sweetener)

¼ teaspoon of baking soda

½ teaspoon baking powder

Blend eggs one at a time into the softened cream cheese and whisk the mixture for at least a minute after the last egg is in. (I use a stand mixer, but a whisk and some elbow grease work well too).  Add the buttermilk and vanilla.  Mix the dry ingredients together in a separate bowl.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix until thoroughly blended. The mix will be thinner than traditional waffle mix, however the eggs will expand in cooking and fill the space in the waffle maker.

A couple of notes on the Low Carb Waffles:

  • Sometimes I use part buttermilk and part Greek yogurt for a zippy tart flavor
  • You can make a grain-free version of this omitting the low carb flour blend and upping the whey protein and almond flour for a total of 2 cups.
  • Low carb waffles have less gluten and do not hold together quite as well as regular ones: be careful in removing them from your waffle iron. You may find the need to oil/butter the surface of the waffle maker a bit more, even on non-stick surfaces.
  • Low carb ingredients tend to brown quicker: doneness is best determined when the waffle can be removed from the iron, not when it is simply “browned.”
  • I use Trader Joes ground whole almond meal. Its ground whole with skins and is less expensive, but Bob’s Red Mill brand is good too. You can grind your own in a food processor: be careful not to grind too long and end up with butter.

*KevinPA was a long time contributor to many low carb forums, and well known for his kitchen experimentation, especially with baking. Kevin passed away earlier this year and his own website is gone, but Low Carb Friends has archived many of his recipes. It’s also worth checking out Lowcarber.org and searching the forums for his posts. Kevin you are missed.

Kevin PA’s Low Carb Flour Blend

1/2 cup Carbalose

1/4 cup wheat protein isolate 5000

1 Tablespoon  wheat protein isolate 8000

1/8 cup (about 2 Tablespoons) almond flour

1 Tablespoon resistant wheat starch 75

1 tsp Thick-it-Up (my substitution as original vegetable gum product is no longer available)

I multiply this recipe by 8 and keep the flour blend on hand in an airtight container. These ingredients are all available to order via the internet: I order most specialty ingredients through Netrition, but you may also find these products at other websites.

About Tasty Mayhem

Love to eat, cook, write. Try to think of witty things to say about the world but my thoughts are consumed by food. Mostly.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Low/er Carb, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Waffles

  1. That photo looks amazingly delicious!

    Like

  2. Tasty Mayhem says:

    Thank you! Its funny,I set aside another waffle to cool off that I thought looked better. (so I could photograph it when it was not steaming hot.) When I sat down to my own breakfast, D turned to me and said, looking at my plate, “THAT’S the waffle you should be photographing, right now while the butter is just starting to melt.” A good eye that one.

    Like

  3. Jill says:

    My waffle iron has been dormant for too long! Waffles are just about the best thing ever, but I hardly ever make them.

    Like

    • Tasty Mayhem says:

      I think of you when I make waffles! you should make some this weekend. Make them for dinner: cut out the sugar, add some herbs and top them with some veggies and cheese! Like a dutch baby but (I think) easier!.

      Like

  4. Elaine says:

    You make me want to eat waffles right now. I haven’t had them in the longest time. Thank you for posting the low-carb version. My husband likes to eat low-carb as much as possible.

    Like

Leave a Reply

